Award Winners 2019

The following awards were made in the 2019 Festival.

Classical Singing
Tamzin Barnett – The Madame Mimi Scharrer Cup
Lotte Pearl – The Madame H Palgrave Turner Cup
Tamzin Barnett – Laura  Eaton Cup
Robert Ahern – Winner of a coaching session with Yvonne Patrick
Tamzin Barnett – Winner of a coaching session with Lesley-Anne Sammons
Tamzin Barnett – Winner of a coaching session with Dame Felicity Lott

Strings Section
Dilara Sahin – The Corin Long Senior Recital /The Corin Long Festival Cup
Rose Gosney –  runner up
Richart van Zyl – The Corin Long  Junior Recital
Eve-Jolie Cresswell –  runner up
Natasha O’Flynn – The Cecil Aronowitz Memorial Cup for most promising string player

Speech & Drama Section
Chance Stoner – The Sonnet Salver donated by Mrs Patricia Brindley
Harper Jackson, Harry Morris – The Philip Andrew & Peter Howard Shield
Charlotte Tilly – The Craig Whiteley Cup
Charlotte Sell-Mendoza – The Rebekah Clifford Cup
Hannah Norton/Roman Hayeck-Green – The Olive Barton Cup
Nathan Reeve – The Margaret Hardy Challenge Cup
Frankie Milward– Festival Shield donated by Mrs Helen Hayes
Lancing Prep – The Rash Brilliance Festival Shield
BSTS Saturday Seniors Group 1– Festival Shield donated by Nicola Patching & Kate Stoner
Phoenix Theatre Company – The David Henry Bloor Memorial Plaque
George Bowen– Winner of Junior Championship (8–10 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (1)
Jasmine Jerrim-Crisp – Winner of Junior Championship (11–13 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (2)
Chance Stoner – Intermediate Championship & The Society of Teachers of Speech & Drama Award

Concerto Section
Riya Hamie – First prize under 14s
Berniya Hamie – First prize under 19s
Jonathan Ma – First Prize Concerto under 25s
Hannah Hever – Second Prize Concerto Under 25s
Ruben Emson – Most promising brass soloist

Guitar Section
Jude Hall – The Bach Trophy

Piano Section
Berniya Hamie – Winner of Senior Championship and The European Piano Teachers Association Challenge Cup
Benedict Wade – Winner of Junior Championship and The Edward Paxton White Memorial Cup
Ying Seyhan – The Brighton Hammond Organ Society Challenge Cup
Berniya Hamie and Riya Hamie – The Lisa Childs Memorial Trophy (1)
Benedict Wade – The Seventh Art Sonata Cup
Benedict Wade – The Christine Pembridge Cup (Junior Recital)
Berniya Hamie – The Christine Pembridge Cup (Senior Recital)
Amelia Knapp – The Doris Waymark Trophy (Junior)
Charlotte Yan – The Doris Waymark Trophy (Senior)

Woodwind & Brass Section
Sofiia Matviienko – Winner of Senior Recital
Sophie Watson – Winner of Junior Recital
Daniel Pengelly – Most promising woodwind player
Silas Shepherd-Thompson – Gavin Henderson award

Roedean Cup
This is awarded to the performer or group with the highest mark in the Festival.
Phoenix Theatre Company