Who we are

Springboard is a Registered Charity (no. 1078068), run by Trustees (see below), who are elected every three years at the AGM. The Festival’s costs, which include the venue, the professional adjudicators, and a part-time administrator, are financed through the class entry fees, and by making an admission charge on the door for adults wishing to attend the Festival as members of the audience. (Those in full-time education can watch for free.) Sponsorship from individuals is also vital to ensure that we cover our costs.

The Festival is managed by a team of Trustees and a part-time Administrator. Each Section has its own Section Secretary and Committee (see below), who plan the syllabus and run the classes. The Festival also relies on the time and effort of dozens of volunteers.

“Springboard offers a warm-hearted structure through which it is possible to appreciate what can be achieved by sheer determination. Appreciation of artistic endeavour, and the making of Music and Drama, is a vital and intensely personal part of the extraordinary phenomenon that is the human being. As a race we may do some terrible things to one another, but the sensitivity and artistry encouraged by activities such a Springboard must bring hope and inspiration for the best that we may aspire to.”

Professor Gavin Henderson CBE
President – Springboard Festival
Principal – Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Patrons & Trustees


  • Howard Blake OBE
  • Jessica Hynes
  • Dame Felicity Lott
  • Andrew Sherwood
  • Honeysuckle Weeks
  • The Mayor of Brighton & Hove City Council, Councillor Cllr Pete West


  • Professor Gavin Henderson CBE

Vice President

  • Neil Jenkins


  • Jannet King – Chair
  • Susan Sheen – Vice Chair
  • Patrick Haworth – Company Secretary
  • Dominic Nunns – Treasurer
  • Dr James Westbrook
  • Caroline Collingridge
  • Sue Goodacre
  • John Bruzon

Section Committees & Administration

Festival Administrator and safeguarding officer

  • Kathy Palmer

Classical Guitar

  • Vic Ellis
  • Annette Avis
  • Dr James Westbrook (Secretary)

Classical Singing & Choirs

  • Joe Ward (Secretary)
  • Lucy Mair
  • Arlene Ralph
  • Eva Rustige
  • Marion Adler


  • Linda Bhattacharya
  • John Bruzon
  • Angela Davis
  • Rachel Fryer
  • Nicola Grunberg
  • June Ingleton
  • Luke Nakajima
  • Anthony Purkiss
  • Emily Macdonald
  • Joe Ward
  • Heather Cowl (Secretary)

Speech & Drama

  • Mandy Winder (Secretary)
  • Judi Campbell
  • Rosie Drew
  • Helen Hayes
  • Nicola Patching
  • Sue Sheen
  • Mary Spink
  • Kate Stoner
  • Margaret Stredwick
  • Rebekah Whiteley
  • Hilary Wiltshire
  • Jenny Leworthy


  • Roland Roberts (Secretary)
  • Ellie Blackshaw
  • Darren Innes

Woodwind & Brass

  • Evelyn Harrison
  • Katrin Heymann
  • Nicole Leclercq
  • Erika Schilsky
  • Rob Hinchliffe
  • Paul Satchwell
  • Anna Tabor
  • Carol Alderson
  • Caroline Collingridge (Secretary)


  • Heather Cowl (Secretary)