Award Winners 2020

The following awards were made in the 2020 Festival.

Roedean Cup
This is awarded to the performer or group with the highest mark in the Festival.
Phoenix Theatre Company

Strings Section

Rosalyn Charis Cheng

Rosalyn Charis Cheng (left) – The Corin Long Senior Recital /The Corin Long Festival Cup
Riya Hamie/Richart Van Zyl –  runners up
Evie-Jolie Kerswell and Edie Behr – The Corin Long  Junior Recital
Robbie Hughes – The Cecil Aronowitz Memorial Cup for most promising string player



Speech & Drama Section
Jasmine Jerrim-Crisp – The Sonnet Salver donated by Mrs Patricia Brindley
Jake & Tilly Heal – The Philip Andrew & Peter Howard Shield
Brandon Jewell – The Craig Whiteley Cup
Celia Ongley – The Rebekah Clifford Cup
Laurence Davidson– The Olive Barton Cup
Trinity Kendrick– The Margaret Hardy Challenge Cup
Callum Williams– Festival Shield donated by Mrs Helen Hayes
BSTS – The Rash Brilliance Festival Shield
BSTARZ– Festival Shield donated by Nicola Patching & Kate Stoner
Phoenix Theatre Company – The David Henry Bloor Memorial Plaque
Freya Hollis– Winner of Junior Championship (8–10 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (1)
Rosa Lawrence – Winner of Junior Championship (11–13 years) & The Olive Von der Heyde Shield (2)
Ruby Pegues – Intermediate Championship & The Society of Teachers of Speech & Drama Award
Ben Bird – The Angus Rowland Cup

Guitar Section
Josh Buckland– The Bach Trophy

Piano Section

Hettie Huges

Oscar Gardner – Winner of Junior Championship and The Edward Paxton White Memorial Cup
Malaika Hassett– The Brighton Hammond Organ Society Challenge Cup
Ying Seyhan & Joseph Harrison – The Lisa Childs Memorial Trophy (1)
Amelie Wade – The Seventh Art Sonata Cup
Oscar Gardner – The Christine Pembridge Cup (Junior Recital)
Hettie Hughes (left) – The Doris Waymark Trophy (Junior)


Woodwind & Brass Section
Sofiia Matviienko – Winner of Senior Recital
Sofiya Panchenko – Winner of Junior Recital
Daniel Pengelly – Most promising woodwind player
Arthur White – Gavin Henderson award